Another year in the books

30 Dec

As 2014 approaches, many of us are looking back at 2013. Looking back at the good times and the bad. Reliving those moments that defined our year. And while I have done a bit of that myself, I’m focusing on 2014, on how I want to remember it a year from now.

This past year, I’ve explored new places, met new people, made new memories. I’ve set goals that I’ve accomplished, and set goals I’ve failed to meet. I’ve taken an emotional journey to understand who I am and what I want my life to be. And looking back, that seems to be the story for the past several years.

I’m by no means complaining, more so reflecting. As a child, you have so much to look forward to, things are ever changing. You expect as you grow into adulthood that things will become mundane and boring. But in fact, for me, it’s been quite the opposite. As I have grow older, I still anticipate what new exciting adventures await, but now I have a better understanding of how they will affect me.

I spent much of the holiday season remembering how I spent Thanksgivings and Christmases growing up, but only now do I realize how they have made me into the person I am today. Those memories shaped me, and will continue to shape me for many years to come. It’s my hope that one day I’ll look back on this year with the smiles I have of years’ past.

I’ve always been one to make New Year’s Resolutions, but considered them more like goals. Many of my goals for 2014 are the same as 2013. Sometimes, goals aren’t achieved in one year, sometimes, we need a bit more motivation. I’d like to get back to working out three times a week. I’d like to delegate more during big events. I want to sit at home and enjoy my couch more than this year. I want to start reading to kids regularly at the local schools. I want to continue to make quilts for people, and make a few for myself. I’d like to become comfortable with free motion quilting. I want to expand my photography business into a “real” business. But most of all, I want to save money on a consistent basis.

Whatever your resolutions or goals are for 2014, I encourage you to write them down, and strive to achieve them. If you don’t quite make it, don’t give up. There’s always 2015. Happy New Year yall :)

Leave a Reply

